,

How to Frame Vintage Handkerchiefs DIY

Framed Vintage Handkerchiefs
Framed Vintage Handkerchiefs

 

 

How to Frame Vintage Handkerchiefs DIY

This is a simple wall art project for my collection of my late mother-in-law’s vintage handkerchiefs. I found this rectangular frame at Ikea and the square ones I got a deal online. You just need some acid free scotch magic tape (it will say good for photos on the label) and maybe some acid free white paper if your handkerchiefs are very fine, see-through white. I first arranged them how I wanted them and ironed them out. I started with the bottom handkerchief, wrapped the edges around the back and taped to the back and did this with each layer. If you really want the handkerchiefs to pop you can try taping a white paper backing but I was lazy and kind like of like how you can see though them. The tricky part is to get it in the frame without wrinkles, I found if you lean the frame against the wall and keep the handkerchiefs upright it should go into place just fine!

 

vintage handkerchief collection

 

 

DIY vintage wall art

 

 

vintage handkerchief wall art DIY

 

 

Vintage wall art DIY
Vintage handkerchief wall art DIY

 

Like the idea of fabric wall art? See this post:

DIY Simple Upcycled Wall Art With Fabricย Scraps

 

See more fun wall art projects here:

5 DIY Easy Wall Artย Projects

 

What do your think? Is thisย  a better idea than just keeping them in a box? Comments welcome.

 

 

51 responses to “How to Frame Vintage Handkerchiefs DIY”

  1. blueribbonfair Avatar

    These are so beautiful.

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar
  2. Valdas Avatar

    It looks fantastic, very beautiful works. Good article with good tips. Possibly beautiful home decorating.

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar
  3. marjiemare Avatar
    marjiemare

    Those are really beautiful and I feel like they could be the perfect gifts for my mom and mother-in-law

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

      I will be making some sachets with a few of the left over ones, great gifts for family! Thanks for stopping by ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Lois Alter Mark Avatar

    My mother has always been to known to carry around multiple handkerchiefs for any given occasion- this would make a perfect keepsake for her. What a clever way of turning an everyday object into a special work of art! Love it!

  5. Trแบงn Quแป‘c Hฦฐng Avatar
    Trแบงn Quแป‘c Hฦฐng

    They are wonderful handkerchiefs with many colorful embroidery motifs inside the frames! My mom will be very interested in those arts!

  6. familyfluxcom Avatar
    familyfluxcom

    This is such a lovely idea! I have some items like this from my grandmother that I would love to have displayed. I never knew what to do with them- but this would be perfect!

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

      Thanks so much, I am also making pendants and sachets with the not so nice ones!

  7. Stephanie Avatar
    Stephanie

    What a brilliant idea! I would be so worried about ruining them when ironing because I am no good with the iron, but I love the end results. They make beautiful art and have great memories with them.

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

      They are usually cotton so they won’t melt LOL! Use the steam setting on 4 or 5. Thanks for stopping by Stephanie ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. newskira Avatar
    newskira

    Those vintage handkerchiefs look beautiful and colorful. I loved the framing idea. It seems like a painting.

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

      Thank-you, they are perfect in my bedroom and hallway ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Angela Tolsma Avatar
    Angela Tolsma

    What a fantastic idea for hand me down items. I would never have thought to hang them, but have to do that with some doilies I have.

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

      Thanks Angela, doilies would be so pretty framed! Thanks for stopping by! ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Eloise Avatar

    what a great idea! I have a few that are so pretty that I stash them away and they never get used or really seen (until now!) thanks for the idea, I’ll get right on it…

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

      Thanks Eloise, let me know how it goes! ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Tonya Michelle Avatar
    Tonya Michelle

    Love new DYI ideas for keepsakes. This is a great way to preserve memories and personalize your home. Love the poppy with the brown background Gorgeous!!

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar
  12. Patranila Avatar
    Patranila

    These are really pretty! Have you ever thought about using thinner frames or lower profile ones? I bet those would really show off the colors/patterns well.

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

      I just get the most affordable frames I can find that still look nice! Thanks for stopping by! ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. toastycritic Avatar

    I wouldn’t have thought of framing those as art, but they really do look quite beautiful. I am sure avoiding the wrinkling would be the hardest part while posting it up as art.

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

      You could use stitch witchery to hold everything in place better too! Thanks for stopping by! ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. janebasilblog Avatar

    I work in a charity shop in the UK. we often get vintage handkerchiefs, and they are hard to sell. This is a brilliant way to use them. Thank yo for a great post.

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

      That is amazing!There are so many things you can make with them from sachets to pendants like I made too! ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. janebasilblog Avatar

        Before anyone started talking about upcycling, I used to collect all sorts of pretty bits and pieces and incorporate them into art and craft projects, but at some point I got too busy with other things, and lost the inspiration. You have a beautifully presented, inspiring blog. Maybe I’ll start making things again. We have so much stuff in Oxfam that doesn’t sell – I’m sure I could utilise some of it.

      2. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

        I was upcycling 30 years ago making dollhouse miniatures but this is too fussy and time consuming for me now! I would love to see all the fun things you have that don’t sell! Pinterest is always a good place for inspiration!

      3. janebasilblog Avatar

        It’s heart-breaking to see the things that don’t sell, but sometimes we get a goldmine – the other day the manager asked me for advice on 36 wedding veils that had been donated we started pulling them out of a bag. The first three didn’t look very interesting – the net was cheap nylon. I raised my eyes to the ceiling and said we’d never sell them. Then we pulled some more out and I got excited. Over two thirds of them are embroidered cotton net with “Made in England” labels. Labels never say that these days. My most cautious guess was that they’re 1960s, although I thought they were older.. I recommended someone who could tell us more about them. It turns out they’re ’40s or ’50s. We don’t yet know their value, but it will be high. I expect we’ll sell them online.
        I love working in the Oxfam shop ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. quietwatercraft Avatar

    They’re beautiful

  16. […] Vintage Taschentรผcher DIY Wandkunst blukatdesign.word … […]

  17. […] Vintage handkerchiefs DIY wall art blukatdesign.word… […]

  18. Anita Avatar
    Anita

    What were the dimensions of the frame you purchased at IKEA to frame vintage hankies?

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

      The long frame is 12 1/4 x 28 1/2, the square ones are 13″

  19. Wendy Avatar
    Wendy

    I have many many of these handkerchiefs from my mother-in-law and I wanted to find a way to display them and i like this idea best, it also gives me a way to gift some to family members.

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

      Thanks Wendy, they do make great gifts too! ๐Ÿ™‚

  20. Bonnie Avatar
    Bonnie

    What a great idea! It’s lovely! I have a few pretty vintage hankies from my mom, so does my sister. I will definitely share this with her. I’m going to see if I have enough for the rectangular frame.

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

      Thanks Bonnie, They look beautiful hanging in my bedroom!

  21. daphnedawn Avatar

    Theses vintage handkerchiefs are beautiful, and such a wonderful idea to display them.

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

      Thanks so much Daphne ๐Ÿ™‚

  22. […] Vintage Taschentรผcher DIY Wandkunst blukatdesign.word … […]

  23. […] Vintage handkerchiefs DIY wall art blukatdesign.word… […]

  24. […] Vintage handkerchiefs DIY wall art blukatdesign.word… […]

  25. Marianela Dickerson Avatar
    Marianela Dickerson

    I have tons of handkerchiefs that I would like to sell if anyone is interested. They are vintage and one of a kind.

  26. Espirational Avatar

    What a lovely way to use vintage hankies.

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

      Thank you so much, this was a fun project ๐Ÿ™‚

  27. Teresa Combs Avatar
    Teresa Combs

    My sister and I have several handkerchiefs from our grandmother. I love the idea of displaying them like this. Is there anything that needs to be done to preserve them? They are around 70 years old.

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

      I would be sure to use only acid free paper on the back and use glass that has a UV light protection and this should help preserve them.

Leave a comment


I’m Heather O’Cain from BluKatDesign on Etsy

Welcome to my blog!

With over 40 years of experience as a professional high-end jewelry designer in Seattle, I’m passionate about crafting unique, handmade jewelry and ornaments. Each piece I make tells a story, incorporating upcycled, vintage parts or found objects.  Thank you for exploring my craft blog! When I’m not creating you can find me hiking in the Pacific Northwest, foraging for mushrooms, or playing with my Shih Tzu, Zoe.

Find BluKatDesign on:


Subscribe for more posts like this