DIY Crafts Clay Christmas Ornaments

DIY Crafts Clay Christmas Ornaments
Clay ornaments
Simple DIY clay ornaments

DIY Crafts Clay Christmas Ornaments

 

natural stone clay crafts
Natural stone clay from ACTรVA Products

Simple DIY Clay Christmas Ornaments For a Fun Holiday Craft Project

ย I have always loved the look of lacy ceramics so when I got this Natural Stone Clayย  from ACTรVA Products I was super excited to try making ornaments using my late mother-in-laws doilies to make textures in the clay. This is a super easy project that would be great for kids!ย  I love the natural white but you could use a watercolor to accentuate the lace.

materials for christmas ornamentsMaterials:

  • Natural Stone Clay by ACTรVA Products
  • Krylon or Valspar clear gloss or satin finish
  • Fairy dust glitter
  • Cord for hanging

Tools:

  • Cookie cutters
  • Old rolling pin or straight glass
  • Doilies
  • Waxed paper
  • Stir stick straw
  • Optional sandpaper

 

  1. Take a handful of clay making sure you have enough for the size of cookie cutter you are using.ย  Make a ball and press flat then gently roll out about 3/8″ thick on waxed paper with old rolling pin or straight glass. This clay reminds me of pie dough; it will crack and split if you press too hard. If it does crack, just squish it together. I found working one or two ornaments at a time is the easiest:

 

2) Sandwich the dough between two doilies and roll out until about 1/4″ thick:

Roll clay between doilies

 

4

 

3) Lift off doily and cut out with cookie cutters, I had a flower and heart cutters but birds would be cute too:

cookie cutter ornaments

 

4) With a stir stick straw, poke a hole for the cord hanger:

clay flower ornament

 

christmas ornament crafts

5) Smooth out any rough edges with finger, may use a little water.

6) Let dry 1-2 days on waxed paper, flipping them over if they start curling. You can use sandpaper on the dry clay and also smooth the dry clay with water if necessary.

7) Seal with Krylon clear satin or gloss, sprinkling with fairy dustย  glitter and another coat of Krylon.ย  Let dry then flip them over and do the other side.

8) Tie a cord and hang!

holiday ornament diy

 

holiday oranment DIY

 

If you like these ornaments see ideas for more Christmas ornaments: upcycled ornaments using fabric scraps to cover old bulbs and photo ornaments made from jar lids! Also : 5 Christmas Crafts Ornaments and Decorations

Follow my Pinteres board: Christmas Ornaments

Do you love making Christmas ornaments as much as I do?ย  If you try making these let me know how it goes, comments welcomed!

14 responses to “DIY Crafts Clay Christmas Ornaments”

  1. Flissitations Avatar

    What pretty Christmas ornament, thanks for sharing this fun DIY idea

    1. BluKatDesign Avatar

      Thank-you, these were so fun & easy to make! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Sanderella's Avatar
    Sanderella’s

    Love these!! I shared your pin board on my FB and I am following!! So many pretty ones! โค

    1. BluKatDesign Avatar

      Thanks so much Sandy ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. […] seasonal cutters to cut out a shape. Pierce with a straw to make a hanging hole and let dry. This project from BluKatKraft is a spin on a popular concept but it’s popular for a good reason: it makes […]

  4. jeanicedeering Avatar

    What pretty ideas you have. Love them!

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

      Thanks so much Jeanice ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. susanherr Avatar
    susanherr

    this is a great idea. simple and easy enough even for children! with the plus of teaching them patience.

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

      Thanks Susan, I agree ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Tracey Moore Avatar
    Tracey Moore

    These look like amazing diy gifts! I know it depends on the cookie cutter size, but do you know approximately how many ornaments one bag of clay makes?

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

      Tracey, it has been a long time since I made these but I think I made 12-20 ornaments with one bag. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. […] seasonal cutters to cut out a shape. Pierce with a straw to make a hanging hole and let dry. This project from BluKatKraft is a spin on a popular concept but it’s popular for a good reason: it makes […]

Leave a comment


I’m Heather O’Cain from BluKatDesign on Etsy

Welcome to my blog!

With over 40 years of experience as a professional high-end jewelry designer in Seattle, I’m passionate about crafting unique, handmade jewelry and ornaments. Each piece I make tells a story, incorporating upcycled, vintage parts or found objects.  Thank you for exploring my craft blog! When I’m not creating you can find me hiking in the Pacific Northwest, foraging for mushrooms, or playing with my Shih Tzu, Zoe.

Find BluKatDesign on:


Subscribe for more posts like this