Simple DIY Cuff Bracelet
Simple DIY Cuff Bracelet

DIY Upcycled Jewelry: Simple Cuff Bracelet From a Brooch

DIY simple cuff bracelet made from a brooch. I love quick and easy projects! All you need is some wide elastic, mine is 1 1/4″, you can find it in all sorts of great colors now but I hadย  some black, and a brooch:

 

DIY bracelet cuff

 

Simply wrap the elastic firmlyย  around your wrist and overlap about 1″ and cut. ( it will stretch and the weight of the brooch will make it flop around more so you want it tighter than you think!)ย  You can hand sew it but I did a zig zag back and forth several times with my machine on both ends:

 

DIY jewelry project

 

Trim all of the threads,ย  I pinned my brooch over the seams so they didn’t show.ย  You may want to stitch the brooch down in a couple spots if necessary. For the clasp, I like to use a dab of rubber cement to hold it closed more securely, later you can somewhat easily remove the cement if you want to use the brooch again. I am not a bracelet person but this may be cute for a special occasion, it reminds me of Christmas! These would be great for proms too!

 

DIY brooch bracelet

 

DIY bracelets
Brooch Bracelet Cuffs

 

I love to make upcycled necklaces and earrings also, be sure to check out my Etsy store, BluKatDesign and see my latest upcycled vintage brooch necklace:

 

upcycled vintage brooch necklace
Upcycled vintage brooch necklace on Etsy

 

For more jewelry DIY’s follow my Pinterest board, DIY Jewelry Tutorials:

Or keep up to date with my latest upcycled jewlery creations:

 

Are you a fan of vintage upcycled jewelry?ย  Think this would be an easy and fun project? Comments welcomed!

38 responses to “DIY Upcycled Jewelry: Simple Cuff Bracelet from a Brooch”

  1. Sanderella's Avatar
    Sanderella’s

    I like them!! Beautiful work! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. BluKatDesign Avatar

      Thanks so much Sandy ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Robin Rue (@massholemommy) Avatar

    That is a super cute idea. My Nana has a ton of old brooches!

    1. BluKatDesign Avatar

      Thanks Robin, they are fun to make ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Sheri Ann Richerson Avatar

    What a cute idea for making a bracelet! I love both items. Thanks for sharing!

    1. BluKatDesign Avatar

      Sheri Ann, thanks so much! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. mskathykenny Avatar
    mskathykenny

    Great idea! I have a brooch that has been lying around gathering dust. Thanks for this.

    1. BluKatDesign Avatar

      You’re welcome mskathy ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Amy Jones Avatar

    I love your designs Heather! each one is so different and unique from the rest, also you are up cycling which means you are being environment friendly! yay !

    1. BluKatDesign Avatar

      Amy, thanks so much I love finding things or reusing items for my jewelry or crafts ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Heather Avatar

    It looks like something my mother in law would wear. Nice way to upcycle something.

    1. BluKatDesign Avatar

      Thanks Heather ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Healing Tomato (@healingtomato) Avatar

    This is awesome! It reminds me of the 80s when i used to make my own broaches. They were nowhere as pretty as yours. Definitely going to try making them again

    1. BluKatDesign Avatar

      That is awesome! Thanks for stopping by Healing Tomato ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Elizabeth O. Avatar
    Elizabeth O.

    I absolutely love the cuff bracelets, especially the red one. Thanks for sharing, it seems quite easy to do and it doesn’t take a lot of time either. I miss wearing accessories like these!

    1. BluKatDesign Avatar

      Thanks Elizabeth, I love a quick and easy project! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. patricemfoster Avatar
    patricemfoster

    Cute, lovely piece.

    1. BluKatDesign Avatar

      Thank-you! ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Oana Avatar

    I have a friend who is obsessed with brooches, such a great idea, getting her a brooch she can wear as an up-cycled bracelet or necklace even.

    1. BluKatDesign Avatar

      Oana, when you get tired of the bracelet, you can use it as a brooch again! ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for stopping by!

  11. Liz Mays Avatar

    What a great way to upcycle something we all probably have sitting around!

    1. BluKatDesign Avatar

      Liz, that’s what I love most about upcycling, coming with new ways to use something! Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Rosey Avatar
    Rosey

    What a great way to use a brooch. It’s very pretty!

    1. BluKatDesign Avatar

      Rosey thanks, cuffs are so popular today! ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Fashionable Librarian Avatar

    I have said it already and I will say it again..you are very good. This is fabulous work

  14. BluKatDesign Avatar

    Thank-you so much Fashionable Librarian ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. Because I'm cheap Avatar
    Because I’m cheap

    This turned out lovely! I always see pretty brooches at the thrift store and this would be a lovely way to use some of them.

    1. BluKatDesign Avatar

      Thanks, it is fun to upcycle vintage jewelry ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Ria Rosaura Romero Avatar

    wow very nice, i should do this with my broken brooch, i love the idea.

    1. BluKatDesign Avatar

      A great way to use a broken brooch! ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. Emma White (@TheRealSupermum) Avatar

    oh wow this is just amazing your very talented

  18. Tonya C Avatar
    Tonya C

    How clever! My daughter is into making her own accessories too!

    1. BluKatDesign Avatar

      Awesome Tonya, thanks for stopping by ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. Shannon P Avatar

    Ooooh, I have a few of my grandmothers brooches that this would be the perfect project for!

    1. BluKatDesign Avatar

      Oh you are so lucky Shannon! ๐Ÿ™‚

  20. hautebeautyguide Avatar
    hautebeautyguide

    What a cool idea! I have a few of my grandma’s old broaches that would be perfect for this!

    1. BluKatDesign Avatar

      It is so fun to take vintage jewelry and remake it into something modern and fashionable!

  21. […] Download Plan More @ blukatdesign.wordpress.com […]

Leave a comment


I’m Heather O’Cain from BluKatDesign on Etsy

Welcome to my blog!

With over 40 years of experience as a professional high-end jewelry designer in Seattle, I’m passionate about crafting unique, handmade jewelry and ornaments. Each piece I make tells a story, incorporating upcycled, vintage parts or found objects.  Thank you for exploring my craft blog! When I’m not creating you can find me hiking in the Pacific Northwest, foraging for mushrooms, or playing with my Shih Tzu, Zoe.

Find BluKatDesign on:


Subscribe for more posts like this