DIY Upcycled Jewelry: Simple Cuff Bracelet from a Brooch

Simple DIY Cuff Bracelet

Simple DIY Cuff Bracelet

DIY Upcycled Jewelry: Simple Cuff Bracelet From a Brooch

DIY simple cuff bracelet made from a brooch. I love quick and easy projects! All you need is some wide elastic, mine is 1 1/4″, you can find it in all sorts of great colors now but I had  some black, and a brooch:

 

DIY bracelet cuff

 

Simply wrap the elastic firmly  around your wrist and overlap about 1″ and cut. ( it will stretch and the weight of the brooch will make it flop around more so you want it tighter than you think!)  You can hand sew it but I did a zig zag back and forth several times with my machine on both ends:

 

DIY jewelry project

 

Trim all of the threads,  I pinned my brooch over the seams so they didn’t show.  You may want to stitch the brooch down in a couple spots if necessary. For the clasp, I like to use a dab of rubber cement to hold it closed more securely, later you can somewhat easily remove the cement if you want to use the brooch again. I am not a bracelet person but this may be cute for a special occasion, it reminds me of Christmas! These would be great for proms too!

 

DIY brooch bracelet

 

DIY bracelets

Brooch Bracelet Cuffs

 

I love to make upcycled necklaces and earrings also, be sure to check out my Etsy store, BluKatDesign and see my latest upcycled vintage brooch necklace:

 

upcycled vintage brooch necklace

Upcycled vintage brooch necklace on Etsy

 

For more jewelry DIY’s follow my Pinterest board, DIY Jewelry Tutorials:

Or keep up to date with my latest upcycled jewlery creations:

 

Are you a fan of vintage upcycled jewelry?  Think this would be an easy and fun project? Comments welcomed!

37 thoughts on “DIY Upcycled Jewelry: Simple Cuff Bracelet from a Brooch

  1. I love your designs Heather! each one is so different and unique from the rest, also you are up cycling which means you are being environment friendly! yay !

  2. I absolutely love the cuff bracelets, especially the red one. Thanks for sharing, it seems quite easy to do and it doesn’t take a lot of time either. I miss wearing accessories like these!

  3. I have a friend who is obsessed with brooches, such a great idea, getting her a brooch she can wear as an up-cycled bracelet or necklace even.

  4. This turned out lovely! I always see pretty brooches at the thrift store and this would be a lovely way to use some of them.

Leave a Reply

