DIY Christmas Button Wreath
DIY Christmas Button Wreath

 

Button Crafts: DIY Christmas Wreath and Ornaments

 

Make your own button wreath and ornaments with scrap buttons! Use metallic gold or silver buttons for extra shimmer, try bold color combos or go monochromatic! If you don’t have buttons, you can find cheap bags of them in craft stores sometimes. I had a bunch of buttons left over from my button jewelry.ย  If you don’t have a wreath form, all you need is some cardboard for this simple, fun project.

Tools:

  • scissors
  • hot glue gun
  • wire cutters

Materials:

  • wreath form or cardboard
  • cardboard
  • buttons
  • scrap fabric
  • florist wire or any wire to match your fabric
  • ribbon

1) For my wreath form, I usedย  two layers of cardboard.ย  I traced a pattern around a couple bowls then roughly cut them out and glued them together. I did this with drinking glasses for my ornament forms.

2) Next, I ripped 1 1/4″ strips of green silky scrap fabric and wrapped around the cardboard and tacked them with hot glue. It really doesn’t have to be perfect at all!

3) I then tied my green florist wire (as long as a piece I could handle!)ย  to the form then added a few buttons, wrapping adding more buttons until it looked finished. Then I tied the ribbons and hangers.

 

DIY Button ornaments

 

 

button crafts ornament

 

holiday crafts

 

button wreath

 

button wreath DIY

 

button wreath

 

I would love to see something like this is silver and blue or an all vintage would be beautiful!ย  You could also do this as a topiary!ย  What do you think of this project, easy enough? Comments welcomed below.

 

For more fun Christmas crafts and decorations see:

2 Fun Upcycled Christmas Ornament DIYย Projects

5 DIY Christmas Crafts, Ornaments andย Decorations

DIY Crafts Clay Ornaments

 

23 responses to “Button Crafts: DIY Christmas Wreath and Ornaments”

  1. Stephanie Avatar

    What a gorgeous way to use all those random buttons that many people have laying around. I really like this and may try one myself.

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

      Thanks Stephanie, it is so fun & easy to do! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Patricia Chamberlain Avatar

    This is so pretty! I think it is a great idea and will be trying it soon.

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

      Awesome, thanks Patricia. Let me know how it turns out! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Linh Avatar
    Linh

    I’m in love with these DIYs. They look fantastic yet easy to follow. Thanks for sharing!

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

      Thanks Linh, this is good to know ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. helenevlacho Avatar
    helenevlacho

    This is so beautiful! Great idea for Christmas decoration! We have so many buttons in our house and never knew how to use them differently.

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

      Thanks Helen, you are so lucky to have buttons! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Marcella Mind Avatar

    This is so cute. And if you want involved the kids you can easily glue the buttons. I’m always amazed with DIYs, sometimes you will use the same stuff but the final product will came up totally different.

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

      I agree you never know how they will turn out but it is a super fun project! Thanks for stopping by Marcella ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Joshua Avatar

    Great DIY ideas for the holidays! Love the ornaments! and the wreath turned out really well too!

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

      Thanks so much Joshua ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Flossie Avatar
    Flossie

    What an adorable craft! The mini wreaths are especially cute, and so easy to make – great idea!

  8. April Marquardt Avatar
    April Marquardt

    OMG this is so cute! I need to make this to show off to all my guests this holiday season! You are so crafty!

  9. Kim Avatar
    Kim

    These DIY Christmas wrath and ornaments came out so lovely and festive! I love the colors you used. I need to make some for my home!

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

      Thanks for stopping by Kim ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Nati Avatar

    this idea is so adorable and full of colour! I would love to try it an do my own Wreath!

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

      Thanks Nati, let me know how it turns out! ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. DIY Christmas Crafts: Vintage Jewelry Tree Cone Decoration | BluKatDesign Handmade Artisan Jewelry Avatar

    […] See more DIY Christmas crafts here: Button Crafts: DIY Christmas Wreath andย Ornaments […]

  12. Jill Avatar
    Jill

    Beautiful work!

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

Leave a comment


I’m Heather O’Cain from BluKatDesign on Etsy

Welcome to my blog!

With over 40 years of experience as a professional high-end jewelry designer in Seattle, I’m passionate about crafting unique, handmade jewelry and ornaments. Each piece I make tells a story, incorporating upcycled, vintage parts or found objects.  Thank you for exploring my craft blog! When I’m not creating you can find me hiking in the Pacific Northwest, foraging for mushrooms, or playing with my Shih Tzu, Zoe.

Find BluKatDesign on:


Subscribe for more posts like this