Vintage Jewelry Christmas Tree

DIY Christmas Crafts: Vintage Jewelry Tree Cone Decoration

 

Have some vintage jewelry or old costume jewelry you never wear? Well, this is a great project for you! Since I collect vintage jewelry for my handmade upcycled jewelry business, BluKatDesign, I had a big collection of beautiful Christmas brooches from my mother-in-law, some not-so-nice or broken pieces and a few strands of pearls and beads that were not usable for my jewelry making but nice enough for this project. You can find great deals at estate sales and if you are lucky, eBay! For the cone tree form, you can use a styrofoam one but I found a heavy cardboard cone with green velvet for 50% off at Joann’s, which is cheaper and sturdier than the styrofoam!

Tools & Materials:

vintage and old brooches, earrings, bracelets and necklaces

strands of pearls and beads

loose beads and pearls

pins

hot glue gun & glue

Christmas tree cone, this one is 16″, see pic below:

 

 

I arranged the brooches on the cone to see what it would look like first

 

I pinned the good brooches without using glue so they could be removed in the future if necessary and then used a hot glue gun for the rest. For filler, I made bead clusters using stands of vintage pearls (6 beads) and gluing them in a circle to scrap fabric and top with a bigger bead in the center and cutting them out when cooled:

 

 

I then used pins to fill any more spaces with beads and pearls.ย  This is how it turned out:

 

 

 

 

I really love how sparkly and elegant it looks. I think it would make a great centerpiece for a dinner table. This project was fairly simple but sometimes it was difficult pinning the brooches. It is so much easier to pin them to clothing than to this cone!ย  I cheated a couple times and tacked the stubborn ones with a bit of glue. I have seen these trees done with buttons too! The coolest thing about this project I did it BEFORE Christmas!

See more DIY Christmas crafts here: Button Crafts: DIY Christmas Wreath andย Ornaments

 

Do you do Christmas crafts? What is your favorite thing to make? Like the idea of a vintage jewelry tree? Comments welcome!

47 responses to “DIY Christmas Crafts: Vintage Jewelry Tree Cone Decoration”

  1. Adaezeboltbethel Avatar

    Oh goodness, you are super creative. I will consider trying this before Christmas

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

      Thanks! I would love to see what you make! ๐Ÿ™‚

    2. Kimberluy Avatar
      Kimberluy

      Where did you buy/find the red flowers you used to fill in between the jewelry?

      1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

        Thanks, These I just hot glued some cheap beads and pearls on fabric or paper discs ๐Ÿ™‚

      2. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

        Actually if you look at a photo I glued the the beads on a piece of green fabric first, then cut them out…totally forgot LOL!

  2. With Love Moni Avatar
    With Love Moni

    These designs are really very awesome. And vintage according to me is always great.

  3. Gervin Khan Avatar
    Gervin Khan

    I have never tried to make a Christmas Tree project for almost 2 years and this project of yours is really beautiful and I want to do the same designs for my house.

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

      It is a fun project, thanks for stopping by Gervin ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Bindu Thomas Avatar
    Bindu Thomas

    Wow…Those looks very interesting and beautiful. Vintage is really awesome.

  5. love faith more Avatar
    love faith more

    Wow! You really have a great sense of creativity.
    Your design for me is really one of a kind. So unique!

  6. Megan Avatar
    Megan

    Oh my gosh this is so cute. I really want to try it. It’s going on the list!

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

      Thank you Megan, it is a super fun project!

  7. Ruth Avatar

    I love these so much l!! The idea to use brooches as ornaments for the tree is really clever and it looks great. Wouldnโ€™t have thought it was home made ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

      Thanks for stopping by Ruth ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Lyosha Varezhkina (@lyoshathegirl) Avatar

    Looks so beautiful! I feel it’s a little bit early for Christmas decor yet but I will save it for later

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

      I know it is early but I know If I waited I would never get a chance to work on Christmas crafts! Thanks Lyosha ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. Glenda Avatar
        Glenda

        Love this idea, itโ€™s beautiful! What is it sitting on, cake, cheese?

      2. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

        LOL, that’s and upside-down milk glass dish! ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Ruxandra Avatar

    Wow! It looks so pretty! I don’t think I would be able to do something so cute!

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

      Thanks, It is a fairly simple project ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Danielle Avatar
    Danielle

    These are so gorgeous and I love how they look! They also look fairly simple to make.

  11. Khushboo Motihar Avatar
    Khushboo Motihar

    I loved your Vintage Jewelry Tree Cone Decoration ideas! I don’t celebrate Christmas but would love to create these ornaments for other festivals ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

      Thanks Khushboo, I have seen these done on a round topiary or wreath too in fun colors! ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Preet Avatar
    Preet

    Oh wow, This is such an amazing and beautiful Christmas Three. My kids would be really happy to see this at home.

  13. Clare Minall Avatar
    Clare Minall

    OMG<, This Christmas Tress is beautiful indeed I would love to try having this at home. Another perfect piece on my living is.

  14. Ellie Plummer Avatar

    This is so gorgeous! I’m so excited for Christmas, will definitely need to try making one of these.

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

      Thanks so much Ellie, let me know how yours turns out! ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. Claire Armstrong Avatar

    Love these Christmas trees, they look kind of glamorous and a great jewelry upcycle.

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

      Thanks Claire, it is so glamorous and sparkly! ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Fatima D Torres Avatar
    Fatima D Torres

    I’m loving the beauty in these cone tree decorations. We’re always looking for new ways to dress up our home for the holidays.

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

      It is such a fun project if you don’t have vintage jewelry you can use little pine cones, buttons or really anything! ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. twinspirational Avatar
    twinspirational

    We are great at DIY projects, but never considered this! We love these cone tree decorations.

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

      Thank you so much for stopping by ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. jeanicedeering Avatar

    Really beautiful piece!

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

      Thanks so much Jeanice ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. Thร nh ฤแบกt Avatar

    creative DIY crafts ! That project seems perfect for Christmas. Thanks for sharing !

    1. BluKatDesign Upcycled Jewelry Avatar

      Thank you for stopping by ๐Ÿ™‚

  20. Christmas Crafts: Vintage Cookie Cutter Ornaments DIY | BluKatDesign Handmade Artisan Jewelry Avatar

    […] charm! I got an early start this year in making Christmas decorations, I just finished a fabulous vintage jewelry Christmas tree last week!ย  I received most of the vintage jewelry and these cookie cutters from my late […]

  21. Kaycee Avatar

    This looks very beautiful

  22. O Christmas Tree: Nostalgic Upcycle With Vintage Cookie Cutters and Old Christmas Cards | BluKatDesign Handmade Artisan Jewelry Avatar

    […] Ornaments DIYย  Now I am loving making these and plan on adding more styles of ornamentsย  and vintage jewelry trees next […]

Leave a comment


I’m Heather O’Cain from BluKatDesign on Etsy

Welcome to my blog!

With over 40 years of experience as a professional high-end jewelry designer in Seattle, I’m passionate about crafting unique, handmade jewelry and ornaments. Each piece I make tells a story, incorporating upcycled, vintage parts or found objects.  Thank you for exploring my craft blog! When I’m not creating you can find me hiking in the Pacific Northwest, foraging for mushrooms, or playing with my Shih Tzu, Zoe.

Find BluKatDesign on:


Subscribe for more posts like this