Jewelry Product Photo Editing and Tips for Etsy

Jewelry Product Photo Editing  and Tips for Etsy

I have been getting a lot of comments and questions about my photography so I thought I would post some of my tips.  I really don’t know what I am doing, I don’t have a fancy camera but you can fix a lot of problems with editing!  I am a big fan of  a clean white background or at least a plain uniform background in your first product photo on Etsy. It really helps your product stand out and you will get used more in Etsy Treasuries. A true white background is difficult to achieve in a photo but it is a simple fix with editing!

I am fortunate to have iphoto which I love…or loved, the latest version in not nearly as great but still works, and this is where I start. You can crop and do all of this in your photo program or the other programs I will be mentioning below:

iphot cropping

iphoto cropping

I upload my photos to iphoto and do a basic edit, crop first,  usually click  “enhance”  but not too much fine tuning, I save that for another program:

iphoto "enhance"

iphoto “enhance”

 

As you can see it is still pretty gray and boring so I upload it to FotoFuze to make background white and necklace pop. You start by highlighting the object with their tool in yellow, maybe do some fine adjustments like increase the “sensitivity” a hair. It is super simple and quick to do:

FotoFuze photo edit for white backgrounds

FotoFuze photo edit for white backgrounds

 

The free version of FotoFuze leaves things a little flat and fuzzy so I then upload to iPiccy another free program for the fine tuning:

photo editing iPiccy

Photo Tips For Etsy:

I will sharpen, add clarity then a little more contrast, sometimes I need to play with the levels or the curves to get a decent photo. This one I am okay with but I should have taken more photos,  I could probably remove or fix some of the funky shadows but since this is not my main product photo I will leave it.

Here are my tips for product photos:

  1. Take extra photos, try different angles
  2. Adjust the white balance in your camera if things look too blue or yellow
  3. I do not like daylight here in Seattle, everything here is gray! Unless you are shooting cars or flowers this makes for a flat photo, use lights!
  4. Use two lights on either side and a hand held light in the center, moving the light at different angles to get the lighting just right, if you are photographing shiny metal a light tent with the brightest lights is a must!
  5. If you have colored stones or rhinestones a LED light will make them sparkle and pop!
  6. Use a tripod and a timer or things will be blurry.
  7. Remove the date stamp, I still see so many of these!
  8. Annoying things like dust or fuzz can easily be edited out for a more professional look.
  9. Have a clean, simple consistent background for your main photo, save the artsy photos and scary mannequins for the other 4 spots on your Etsy listing!
  10. Have one photo show the scale or how it is to be used or modeled.
  11. Use a photo collage for one of your photos, I use Canva to create mine.

Here is my set up, not the greatest, I really need better lighting, all my photo lamps are broken now!:

photographing jewelry product photos

 

 

I use a Modahaus table top studio without the “tent” because most of my products aren’t shiny but plain white paper will work great also!

To see this colorful graphic bib necklace and more BluKatDesign jewelry, click on photo to take you to my Etsy store: (photo collage made on Canva)

BluKatDesign jewelry on Etsy

BluKatDesign jewelry on Etsy

To see more unique jewelry click  here: BluKatDesign on Etsy

If you have any questions or would like to add any of your photo tips please comment!

7 thoughts on “Jewelry Product Photo Editing and Tips for Etsy

  1. Heather, you’re so right about the natural light here in the PNW. Lighting is one of my top challenges, as is clarity. Many of your tips helped me take better photos even of my handmade items. Thank you for sharing! (inexpensive white butcher paper works good in a pinch)~cheers

  2. Pingback: Have Fun With Your Own Photos On This Photo Editing Site! | BluKatDesign Handmade Artisan Jewelry

Leave a Reply

