Best Snickerdoodles and Chocolate Chip Monster Cookies Recipe

Snickerdoodles

Best Snickerdoodles and Chocolate Chip Monster Cookies Recipe

Best Snickerdoodle and chocolate chip cookie recipe!  I like my cookies big and fat with a good chew. I found a great chocolate chip cookie at my local market made by Carol’s. It was so good, with a melt-in-your-mouth shortbread like quality but not too dry and crumbly.  I had to find the recipe even though I am certain she guards hers!  I found this Colossal Hard Boiled Egg Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe and it was close! I made the recipe a few times and even had people request the recipe but I still wanted to perfect it, plus the idea of using hard boiled eggs grossed me out even though this is a fantastic cookie!

I use basically the same recipe but instead of the hard boiled eggs, I blend the eggs, vanilla and lemon juice together and gently add it to the “shortbread” crumb mixture just until everything sticks together like you are making a pie crust; you don’t want to over work the dough!  I have no idea what Carol’s Snickerdoodles taste like but these are the best!  I use the same recipe for the chocolate chip cookies see the details at the end of the recipe….these come out almost like Carol’s with the toffee bits!   Note: my food processor is a normal size but I had to do this in  two batches because it is just too much dough to fit in my processor all at once! You can also just half the recipe to make one batch…but then that makes only about 7 cookies…

For the Snickerdoodles:

2 3/4 cups bread flour
1 cup cold butter (2 sticks), cut into large chunks
2T cornstarch
3/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
3/4 cup sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
1 TBS vanilla extract (use a good one for best results)
2 eggs
2 tsps lemon juice
Topping:
1 1/2- 2 TBS cinnamon
1/3 c granulated sugar
Directions:
1. blend eggs, vanilla, and lemon juice in a bowl and set aside:
egg mixture
2. Add flour, sugars, cornstarch, salt and baking soda to food processor and pulse until combined:
dry ingredients
3. Add butter chunks and process until fine crumbs:
butter
add butter
4. Add egg mixture gradually, pulsing just until dough comes together:
add eggs
5. Dump out on a board or large bowl and sprinkle 1TB cinnamon over the dough  (I don’t measure!) then fold dough in half and sprinkle the other TB of cinnamon to get “marbled” effect:
snickerdoodle dough
snickerdoodle recipe
6. Form  handful size balls,  roll in granulated sugar and place on a cookie sheet that has been lined with parchment paper. You can flatten the balls slightly:
making cookies
snickerdoodles
          Preheat oven to 350 deg F.
7. Place cookie balls in freezer while you preheat the oven about 15 minutes. (or just chill the dough before you form the balls!)
8. Bake cookies  on parchment paper in a cookie sheet for 17-20 minutes… or until tops brown slightly.
*For the chocolate chip cookies omit the cinnamon and add:
2c. chocolate chips or chunks
1c.  toffee bits
1c. walnuts
snickerdoodles

This Snickerdoodle recipe is now my favorite cookie, even tops any chocolate chip except maybe this one!

chocolate chip cookie recipe

Monster chocolate chip toffee cookies

So did you figure out the secret to great cookies? The first is the bread flour, it gives the cookie more weight and chew, then the cornstarch will add a delicate crispness to the outside and finally baking on parchment paper keeps the cookie from spreading thin ( if you like fat cookies!)

For more baking and dessert ideas follow my Pinterest board Dessert Ideas

Let me know if you try out this cookie recipe and if you like it! Comments welcomed!

52 thoughts on “Best Snickerdoodles and Chocolate Chip Monster Cookies Recipe

  1. Pingback: Cranberry Orange White Chocolate Chip Cookies Baking | BluKatKraft: Art and Craft Blog

  2. Oh man! I am trying desperately to give up sugar but home made cookies are my greatest weakness. I adore both Snickerdoodles and Chocolate chip and toffee cookies? They sound amazing!

  3. I love cookies! They are the perfect choice for my sweet cravings, aside from donuts and cake! This is a fairly easy recipe! Thanks for sharing it!

  4. I needed to thank you for this excellent read!!

    I absolutely loved every bit of it. I’ve got you book-marked to look at new stuff you post…

Leave a Reply

